PLACES OF TOURIST INTEREST
This famous picnic spot which comprises a dam and beautifully landscaped gardens, is situated on the lower hills of the Western Ghats. There are frequent buses to this place from Palakkad.
The garden (Open 10:00 - 18:00 hrs) :
Lush green lawns, Well laid-out flower beds, Cool pools, fountains and pathways, Rock garden Rose garden has over a hundred varieties, An aerial ropeway across the garden. Ph: 2815280, the dams and gardens are illuminated on Saturdays, Sundays and national holidays from 1900 - 2000 hrs. On other days they are illuminated on request for a fee. Ph: 2815140
Boating and fishing facilities are available here. Pedalboats, rowboats, water scooters and motorboats can be hired from 1000 - 1800 hrs. A well maintained swimming pool (Tuesday holiday) A fresh water aquarium (Open 1100 - 2000 hrs & 1300 - 2100 hrs on holidays) A snake park (Open 0800 - 1800 hrs)
A children's park
The passenger ropeway (Open 1000 - 1300 hrs & 1430 - 2000 hrs):
This is the first of its kind in South India Ph: 2815129 Toy train Adults: Rs. 5, Children between 3-12 yrs: Rs. 3. Ph: 2815280
(Open 1000 - 1830 hrs on weekdays and 0930 - 1900 hrs on Saturdays, Sundays and national holidays). Entrance fee: Adults: Rs.200 Children between 3-12 yrs: Rs. 150. Ph: 2815122, 2815124
Palakkad Fort, situated in the Palakkad town, is beautiful and best preserved forts in Kerala. the sober silence of the granite wall reminds the old tal of valour and courage. It was constructed in 1766 by Hyder Ali of Mysore and his son Tippu Sulthan. In 1790 the fort was taken over and re-modified by the British East India company. The fort is protected by the Archeological Survey of India. Martyr's Column Open Air Auditorium called "Rappadi" and Tourism Information Centre of Distric Tourism Promotion council are there in the spacious Fort Maidan. The children's park and Vatika' are just on the side of the Fort. the fort was situated in the middle of Palakkad Gap with an area of 15 acres.
Situated on the way to Nelliampathy, the Pothundy Reservoir Complex is a charming location for picnics and half-day trips.
A popular picnic spot, the dam is built across the Cherukunnath river, a tributary of the Mangalam river.
The reservoir at Siruvani was built for Tamil Nadu by the Kerala Government to meet the drinking water requirements of Coimbatore. The gateways on either side of the road across the dam are typical of the Kerala and Tamil architectural styles. Siruvani is also home to certain tribals like the Mudugars and Irulars.
Sprawled across 285 sq. km, the Parambikulam Wildlife Sanctuary is home to rare wild animals. Boating/cruising facilities are available at the Parambikulam Reservoir. The Rest Houses of the State Forest Department at Thoonakkadavu, Thellikkal and Anappady offer accommodation. A tree house in the reserve forest area in Thoonakkadavu has to be booked in advance. The oldest teak tree, kannimari is found here.
Permitting authority: Divisional Forest Officer, Parambikulam, Thoonakkadavu Ph: 04253- 277233
This fascinating hill station is at a height of 467 to 1572 m above sea level. At least 10 hair pin bends have to be negotiated on the Ghat road that passes through the breathtaking evergreen forests of the Sahya Ranges. Seethakundu at Nelliyampathy offers a panoramic view of about one third of Palakkad. This hill country is the delight of trekkers. The DTPC Palakkad offers accommodation in the tourist resort with all facilities (6 double rooms and 2 dormitories).
The 89.52 sq. km national park is believed to be the sole surviving bit of evergreen forests in the Sahya Ranges. The peculiarity of the Silent Valley Forest is that it is devoid even of the chirping of cicadas. Vehicular transport is possible only up to Mukkali, nearly 24 km from the park. The rest of the way has to be covered on foot up to the source of Kunthipuzha, which flows through the valley before merging into River Bharathapuzha. Permitting authority: Asst. Wildlife Warden, Silent Valley National Park, Mukkali, Ph: 04924-253225.
Meenkara is a fascinating spot by virtue of the dam, garden, fish ponds and natural beauty.
Loknayak J.P. Smrithi Vanam and Deer Park is in an extent of 10 acres of reserve forest at walayar in the border of Kerala and Tamilnadu on the side of N.H 47. Deers and other animals move freely in this park. Facilities for elephant ride provided.
Mayiladumpara Choolannur peacock sanctuary is 30kms. away from Palakkad. It is well known as a grove abounding in peacocks.
It takes a three hour trek from the base of the Dhoni Hills to reach this reserve forest area with its small, beautiful waterfall.
It is 15 kms away from Palakkad. Kottayi is the native place of the Palakkad Chembai Vaidyanaha Bhagavathar, the doyen of Karnatic Music.
There are 10 steps of water falls at Meenvallom, the originating point Thuppanadu river. The height of the falls varies from 5 to 45 metres.
Attappadi is a tribal abode. Irular, Mudugar and Kurumbar are the main tribal groups. They live in forest in closely built huts called 'Ooru' (hamlet) The Government have finalised some concrete programmes to uplift the tribals
Peruvempu in Palakkad Taluk, is famous for making leather musical instrumentslike chenda, madhalam, thakil, edeca, tabala, udukku, etc.,
Kanjirappuzha dam is situated 24 kms. from Palakkad. The water spread of the dam lies in a single stretch. An evergreen forest, by name 'Vettilachola', is immediately beyond the reservoir which is surrounded by hills and during rainy season, the mountain will be covered with mist. All this makes the area extremely beautiful and picturesque. There are three islands in the reservoir with plenty of fish (including commercial varieties) grown by the Fisheries Department.
Across the lush green fields, two kms. from Chittur town on the banks of river, Sokanashini,and old building where Thunchath Ramanujan Ezhuthachan, regarded as the father of Malayalam language, lived in the 16th century. People call it Gurumadhom and it is here that he transcreated the two great Sanskrit epics, the Ramayana and the Mahabharata, for the common people with the subtle and meaningful mingling of Sanskrit and Dravidian strems of the prevailing language and literature. Ezhuthachan evolved an altogether new texture for the malayalam language. As the story goes, Thunchath Ezhuthachan, on his way back from his sojourn in Tamil Nadu, had a stop-over here with his disciples. The tranquility of the place made him settle down here for the rest of his life. Occupied by Tamil Brahmins who perhaps are the descendents of the disciples of the Acharya, the gramam still has an old look and on both sides of the building are temples of Sree Rama and Siva. The street with long arrays of Agraharams has all the charm of antiquity that we should love to preserve.
A Srichakra and a few idols worshipped by Thunchath Acharya, the stylus, the wooden slippers and a few old manuscripts are exhibited. It is on Vijayadasami day that the memorial gets the maximum number of visitors with hundreds of children brought here for a ritualistic initiation into learning.
Kalakkath Kunchan Nambiar represents an age and its culture in the field of Malayalam literature. He was the native of Killikurissi mangalam in Palakkad. Now, the Kunchan Smarakam is a national monument and is being governed by a committee appointed by the Government.
A three year course on Ottan Thullal, Seethankan Thullal and Parayan Thullal was started with the help of artistes attached to this monument. The smarakam celebrates Navarathri festival with much pomp and grandeur. Every year, May 5th is celebrated as Thunchan Day. A library and an auditorium are attached to this monument.